Home > Development Diary, Game Design, Game Maker 8 > The Spire – Game Dev Diary 1

The Spire – Game Dev Diary 1

Not too long ago I decided to start a personal game project for two reasons.  1) To work on my own thing for a while (and thus maintain sanity) and 2) Make a fun little prototype of a game.  It may be that I haven’t paid much attention to the indie scene as much, but it always seemed odd to me that one of my favorite games, Castlevania: Symphony of the Night, only existed within its own series.  The Metroid-vania style of gameplay where it’s predominately platforming with melee as the main form of combat.  There’s also a large emphasis on RPG elements like equipment customization and levels along with an expansive environment to explore.  The game is often said to be one of the best in the series but there are few games out there that try the same thing outside of the Castlevania franchise.

So that’s what I decided to start working on (ambitious much XD).  I don’t have much in terms of a deadline, so I’m planning to just periodically plug away at it and expand it as I go.  I’ve got a simple storyline to work with based loosely off the premise of Final Fantasy Legends on the Gameboy (that takes me back).  Basically, there’s a giant tower in the middle of the land that stretches all the way up into the clouds.  Many adventurers brave the tower with hopes of finding what lies above, but it is filled with monsters and no one has returned since venturing in.  Then one day, a girl falls from the sky.

So that’s the story pitch.  I’m keeping it loose right now and focusing on putting together mechanic features.  I’m basing a lot of it off the ones seen in Castlevania, but we’ll see how it evolves.

Currently I have:

  • Running
  • Jumping (single & double)
  • Stairs/Ramps
  • Parallax scrolling

Most of the art will be simple, as I’m just an amateur pixel artist at best.  I’m using Game Maker 8 Standard (also takes me back as GM5 was my first game engine back in ‘06).  So a little bit of a retro vibe, but I want it to also stand up on its own feet.  I’m hoping I can keep up with a monthly diary update here.  In the meantime, here’s a screenshot ;D

theSpire_01

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

